Flagpole Photographers earns New England High Honors at NECCC

New England Camera Club Council (NECCC) has announced that Flagpole Photographers placed first in the annual Black and White Class A Print Competition and second in the Color Print Competition for the 2015-2016 season. Additionally, they announced the winners of the overall Inter-club Print of the Year Competition and Flagpole members took second place in both the Black and White Class A and the Color Print divisions.

In the Black and White Class A competition, Flagpole placed second in the Fall and then took first place in both the Winter and Spring competitions, giving them an overall first place finish for the year with a score of 292 points. The Greater Lynn Photographic Association placed second with 283 points and the Photographic Society of Rhode Island was third with 278 points.

In the Color competition, Flagpole placed first in the Fall competition which boosted their final score of 284 points into second place for the year. First place honors went to Charter Oak Photographic Society with 292 points and Eastern Maine Camera Club followed Flagpole with 283 points for the third place finish.

All of the first, second, and third place winning photos for each of the fall, winter, and spring competitions were then eligible for the Print of the Year Competition. In Black and White Class A Prints, Michael Karchmer with Cape Cod Viewfinders won the competition with his photo “In Thought.” Taking second place was Rick Tyrseck with the Flagpole Photographers with his photo “Misty Morning.” In the Color Print division, Jon Rolf with Cap Cod Viewfinders finished first with his photo “Eagles Fighting Over Salmon” and Erik Landegren with Flagpole Photographers took second with his photo “Bubbly Aquatic Portrait.”

NECCC is a nonprofit umbrella group for 80 camera clubs in the New England states. The annual recognition is determined by the compilation of the Fall, Winter, and Spring NECCC competition scores. Each club may submit four prints from different members of their club for each judged event.

Individual Member Awards

1st Place:



Sandy Schill – Forks


Erik Landegren – Bubbly Aquatic Portrait

2nd Place:


Sue Bonacci – Top of the World


Rick Tyrseck – Dunescape


Erik Landegren – Soldiers of the Table


Erik Landegren – Tarantula


Rick Tyrseck – Misty Morning

Honorable Mention:


Erik Landegren – 7 Seconds at the Gate


Mark Ashbolt – Crush on the 61


Rhonda Cullens – Dark Reflections


Erik Landegren – Fire & Ice Cocktails

Print of the Year Awards

2nd Place:

Erik Landegren – Bubbly Aquatic Portrait
(See Above)

Rick Tyrseck – Misty Morning
(See Above)