2019 Annual Competition Results

May 5, 2019 by Info

Flagpole Photographers Camera Club recently held their Annual Competition and Exhibit at the C.H. Booth Library in Newtown during the month of May. Judges awarded Flagpole member Jon Gordon the Judges’ Best in Show Ribbon for his photo “White Rose.” Darrell Harrington’s photo “Mistaya Canyon” was awarded the Dave Kriger Nature Award and will be placed on display with previous annual winners of the award on the third floor of the library. Mark Ashbolt’s photo “Rose” received the Jeannette Talarino Flower Award, and Rhonda Cullens received the Bruce Allen Open Print Award for her photo “Retired Firefighter.”

The winners in the Open Color Category were first place “Sel-Fish” by Erik Landegren, second place “Beautiful” by Darrell Harrington, third place “California Dreaming” by Darrell Harrington, Honorable Mention to “Watermelon” by Erik Landegren and “What you Steering at” by Erik Landegren.

In the Monochrome Category, first place went to “Oreo” by Erik Landgren, second place to “Maine Coastline” by Darrell Harrington, third to “Purity” by Micheline Williams, Honorable Mention to “A Special Bond” by Rhonda Cullens, and Honorable Mention to “A Previous Era” by Chane Cullens.

Each of the following received a Judge’s Choice Award: “Sleepy Hollow Farm” by Rick Tyrseck, “Three Pears” by Micheline Williams, and “Azalea Way” by Cindy Garnett.

Below are the results from the annual competition and exhibit. 

The photographs will be on display at the library until May 31. 

The copyrights for all photographs appearing on this website are owned by the photographer. And as such, the photographs may not be used for any purpose without the express written consent of the copyright owner. Click here to inquire about purchasing photographs.

Congratulations to our winners!  

Top Awards

Judges’ Best in Show Award:
White Rose by Jon Gordon

Dave Kriger Nature Award:
Mistaya Canyon by Darrell Harrington

Jeannette Talarino Flower Award:
Rose by Mark Ashbolt

Bruce Allen Open Print Award:
Retired Firefighter by Rhonda Cullens

People’s Choice Award:
David and Goliath by Robyn Abrams

Color Awards

Sel-Fish by Erik Landegren

Beautiful by Darrell Harrington

California Dreaming by Darrell Harrington

Honorable Mention:
Watermelon by Erik Landegren

Honorable Mention:
What you Steering at by Erik Landegren

Monochrome awards

Oreo by Erik Landegren

Maine Coastline by Darrell Harrington

Purity by Micheline Williams

Honorable Mention:
A Special Bond by Rhonda Cullens

Honorable Mention:
A Previous Era by Chane Cullens

Judges Choice Awards

Judge 1:
Sleepy Hollow Farm by Rick Tyrseck

Judge 2:
Three Pears by Micheline Williams

Judge 3:
Azalea Way by Cindy Garnett



, ,